Blue Dot Organics

Health. Community. Earth.

Blue Dot Organics offers DIY Classes, Events, Workshops & Courses

Learn how to make your own body care & health products like soap, lotion, candles, lip balm & more!

*100% Hands-on

*Organic & Ethically-Harvested Ingredients

*Customize Your Creations Based on Your Needs & Preferences

*Small Class Sizes for Personal Attention

 

“There is perhaps no better demonstration of the folly of human conceits than this distant image of our tiny world. To me, it underscores our responsibility to deal more kindly with one another, and to preserve and cherish the pale blue dot, the only home we've ever known.” 

- Carl Sagan, Pale Blue Dot: A Vision of the Human Future in Space , 7

Soap Making Class Reviews

The class was not at all what I expected, and thats a good thing! I was expecting to sit there and doze off while listening to soap making process while sitting in a classroom setting with many others. I did not expect the hands on experience that I got which is such a better way to learn and it was great having someone there to go through everything with me as the soap was being made.
— Adrian, 7/1/14
You were very hospitable and a great teacher. I never felt rushed to weigh ingredients or do things I am picky about, like choosing a scent. I loved all the hands on experience. I appreciated that you demonstrated some of the trickier tasks, but always let us do it for ourselves. Nothing was ever wrong and questions were always welcome and thoroughly answered.
— Desiree, 6/9/14
The class was so much fun. We liked the size of the class as it allowed us to have a lot more personalized conversation rather than just follow the text book. The material was easy to follow. Before the class, I thought soap making was very difficult and scary thing but the way you walked us thru made us feel it is something more accessible.
— Mari & Gary, 5/26/14
My favorite part of the class was the instructor. She was very hands on, patient, encouraging, knowledgeable and made me feel very comfortable. I also thought the studio space was really cute and clean.
— Lanna, 5/6/14
It was fabulous. So well organized and easy to understand. I loved that it was two people and the price was affordable. I feel like I got my money’s worth. The class exceeded my expectations because I wasn’t really sure how it could be so perfect - just what I was looking for - and it was!
— Jessica, 5/6/14

What Adrian had to say about the Cold-Process Soap Making II Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"I had a great experience! The class was not at all what I expected, and thats a good thing! I was expecting to sit there and doze off while listening to soap making process while sitting in a classroom setting with many others. I did not expect the hands on experience that I got which is such a better way to learn and it was great having someone there to go through everything with me as the soap was being made." 

2. What did you like best about the class?

"Being able to actually bring our own soap home, which includes our own scent and style of soap we chose to do, having the flexibility."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"I really can't think of much but I know that constructive criticism is informative so if I had to say that something needed improvement I would say maybe it got kinda warm in there so add a fan if possible! ( how silly and I'm hot all the time anyway lol) [No problem, Adrian!  Thanks for the suggestion! - Lindsay]

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"I learned about the qualities that the oils had and how to make a well balanced soap bar which is something I didn't know anything about before. My knowledge of the lye calc was much more basic than what I saw in class!"

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"I am thrilled that there is a place like this and hope to see you at another class!

Thanks for all the links and info!!!!"

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on July 1, 2014


What Saba had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

"My experience with Lindsay was excellent!  She made the class fun and friendly.  I felt like I've known her for years.  She has a lot of patience for her students, encourages you to ask questions and makes sure you understand her reply.  I learned all the things that I expected to learn in that class.  I loved the teaching mechanics of the class especially the "SoapCalc" made the calculation much easier and saved us plenty of time.  The only thing I would change about the class would be processing the lye outdoors.  The smell was a bit disturbing at one time.  I don't blame Lindsay because she did not want us to freeze outside. (Thank you for telling me, Saba!  I will definitely make sure if we can't go outside because of the weather that we have good air ventilation. - Lindsay).  Definitely I learned new things especially regarding the process of lye, measurements, the correct formula of ingredients and the bar quality.  It was 100% informative.  I truly loved the class and of course when you have an enthusiastic, patient and passionate instructor it definitely makes the class exciting and fun.  Thank you Lindsay for being a wonderful teacher!!!!"

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on June 21, 2014


What Tammy had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?
"It was a great experience. Lindsay was a great instructor and she made me feel very welcome and comfortable. The soap making class is in a home, but it is a shared space with different studios which i thought was pretty neat. All the materials were provided for, including safety equipment when handling certain chemicals, so i felt very safe working with all the materials. I thought the class would just be a simple step by step instructional on soap making, but i left with a lot more knowledge about the chemical processes for each step and a deeper understanding of all the nuances of the soap making process."

2. What did you like best about the class?

"Best part of the class was working with the materials and seeing the chemical reactions."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"At some points, because of the huge amount of information being delivered, it was a bit of a challenge to process all of it but other than that, everything was great." 

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"It was extremely informative. I learned a lot of different aspects of soap making that i never knew before."

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"Thanks for the fun class Lindsay!!"

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on June 8, 2014


What Desiree had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"I had a great time in the class – it couldn't have been any better for me! I thought we were going to just mix what was provided, but we chose our own soap recipe according to the properties we wanted, and mixed our own fragrances."

2. What did you like best about the class? 

"You were very hospitable and a great teacher.  I never felt rushed to weigh ingredients or do things I am picky about, like choosing a scent. I loved all the hands on experience. I appreciated that you demonstrated some of the trickier tasks, but always let us do it for ourselves. Nothing was ever wrong and questions were always welcome and thoroughly answered."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"I can't think of anything that I really didn't like. I just wanted to make more kinds of soap after I was done!"

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative? 

"I learned a lot more than I thought I would. The class was thorough enough for us to potentially make soap at home, and I felt you provided enough instruction and knowledge to alter our soap recipes and experiment with making different soaps with different features."

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class? 

"Thanks for the class and taking time to get to know us! I'm glad there is a follow up discount for another class – hoping we can do it again!"

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on June 9, 2014


What Mari & Gary had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"The class was so much fun.  We liked the size of the class as it allowed us to have a lot more personalized conversation rather than just follow the text book.  The material was easy to follow.  Before the class, I thought soap making was very difficult and scary thing but the way you walked us thru made us feel it is something more accessible."

2. What did you like best about the class?

"We liked everything about the class.  We liked how flexible you were to our needs.
We liked all the detail information about where to get the tools and ingredients too. 
The mood you created with the studio and your personality was great too.  Loved the class!"

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"There is nothing we didn't like about the class.  One thing I thought might be helpful for me was reviewing process using the instruction sheet verbally afterward.  I used to take bread making class, and it really helped me."

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"I had never made soap before, so everything was new.  It was very informative."

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"Thank you so much for the class and continuous help through e-mails.  Wish the location is an easier access for me, otherwise, I would have been commuting there more often."

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on May 26, 2014


What Tuyet had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"Yes the class was what I expected and MORE!!! I got full attention from my teacher and you went slowly with me as a beginner. You stopped to ask me if I had any questions and didn't make me feel like I was interrupting."
 
2. What did you like best about the class?

"I loved every part of the class - from understanding the soap making process in theory to learning about the instruments needed and the soap calculator to make my own recipes all the way to the real activity of mixing the ingredients and formulating the essential oils fragrance. Which for me, was the hardest part - but I loved it all the same still."
 
3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"I'm not sure if I would change anything - I just want to make more soap!"
 
4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"I learned tons of new things and hope I can apply it on my own. I'll need to get some tools and supplies first."
 
5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"Thanks for the tea and all your great tips and empowering me to learn more.  I will keep in touch and send you pics of the soap when it's cured."

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on May 9, 2014


What Archana had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?
"I had a fantastic experience learning to make soap for the first time. Yes, i had expected something along similar lines and hence was happy that the class met my expectations. I am happy with my batch of soaps."

2. What did you like best about the class?
"Everything was in place and arranged beforehand so actually making the soap was quite efficient."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?
"There was nothing that i disliked particularly. Though if the material were given before class people could just go through the material and have their doubts and questions ready. Just an idea. :) "

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?
"Learnt a lot of new things and yes it was very informative. All the oils and their benefits and how to carefully carry out the soap making was all very rewarding for me."

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?
 "I assume most people who come to attend the class do not know the difference between carrier oils and essential oils (at least I did not). Hence a brief introduction on what are carrier oils and which are the more common of the carrier oils would be nice. Likewise with essential oils. And maybe a brief info on the benefits of more common of the essential oils. Maybe if this were included on the notes would be helpful.  Also, a list of basic oils, butters and essential oils and others to start making the products on our own would also be nice." (Thanks for the suggestions, Archana!  I will plan to give an informational overview of the differences between carrier or natural oils & essential oils and add a list of suppliers to the soap handout. - Lindsay)

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on May 6, 2014


What Jessica had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?
"It was fabulous. So well organized and easy to understand.  I loved that it was two people and the price was affordable.  I feel like I got my money's worth.  The class exceeded my expectations because I wasn't really sure how it could be so perfect - just what I was looking for - and it was!"

2. What did you like best about the class?
"The hands on aspect.  I learn only in a hands on way, and combining that with learning the background of soap helps me to retain the info."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?
"I was nervous about the time.  We didn't need extra time, as it turned out, but I wondered if we would get it all done.  Also, I might like some guidance on good essential oils to mix together for a nice smell in soap."

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?
"YES and YES.  I can't wait to make soap again."

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?
"I am so impressed with the business you've set up and am truly grateful that you started this - I can't believe it only started in December!  Perfect timing for me since I wanted to learn in the spring.  When the student is ready the teacher appears :) "

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on May 6, 2014


What Lanna had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"I had a wonderful experience.  I traveled from out of state to attend, so I had very high hopes I'd enjoy it, but still wasn't sure what to expect.  Ultimately, I walked away with more knowledge than I came with or expected to obtain and loved every moment of it!"

2. What did you like best about the class?

"My favorite part of the class was the instructor.  She was very hands on, patient, encouraging, knowledgeable and made me feel very comfortable.  I also thought the studio space was really cute and clean."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"I have no complaints about the class, other than I wish it could have lasted longer :-) "

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"I learned quite a bit, specifically regarding a Soap Calculator.  I was so green to it when I came, but left feeling very confident in my understanding due to Lindsay's instruction."  

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"It's a lot of fun, the supplies are endless - which allows you to be as imaginative/creative as you'd like when creating a product, and you can tell Lindsay really enjoys what she does.  I can't wait to attend my next class!  Lip balm and body lotion = next! Thank you for all."

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on May 6, 2014


What Timmie had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"I took the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making class and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The class was even better then I expected. The class hand-outs are well prepared and thorough and Lindsay's step-by-step instructions and personal attention made the learning process very easy and enjoyable."

2. What did you like best about the class? 

"Lindsay is very knowledgeable in all aspects of the soap making process. She is extremely thorough and patient in explaining the process and makes sure that there are no questions before moving on to the next step. The hands-on approach made the process foolproof!"

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"There is nothing that I didn't like about the class. I don't think any change is needed."

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"Everything I learned was new! And since I have absolutely no chemistry background, Lindsay made it easy to understand."

5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"I was very impressed with Lindsay's personal touch. Her attentive nature, warm personality and enthusiasm for her craft made the experience very worthwhile.
I'm looking forward to taking more classes in the near future!"

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on April 21, 2014


What Kristine had to say about the Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?
 
"I had a very good experience. I was daunted by books about soap making but after visually seeing how to make soap, I felt relieved to know it is not very difficult (at least making a 2 ingredient soap). I am excited to make more soap. Lindsay is a very nice and enthusiastic teacher."
 
2. What did you like best about the class?

"Leaving the class with a finished product I can use!"
 
3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?
 
"Nothing."
 
4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?
 
"Besides learning how to make soap, I liked learning about the soap calculator. It's an awesome and informative tool/website."
 
5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?
 
"Learning how to make my own soap has opened up doors for me. I wanted to make soap to avoid added chemicals found in store bought soap. I also needed soap that does not have shea butter, coconut oil, or olive oil, and SLS. With all those restrictions I am absolutely sure you will not find that in any store! EVERY natural soap either has one of those ingredients. I checked.
 
So I realized I have to make my own soap and seached online for a class and found Blue Dot Organics. In class we made a Baobob & Babassu soap in class. I used it today. It's creamy and bubbly. I don't know yet if I am allergic to it but it is still a thrill to use something I made that I will not find in stores. I also have to rotate my soaps to avoid developing an new allergy. With these new tools, I can actually do this and not be limited with the products in stores. 
 
If I am able to find oils that I am not allergic too, I would love to take another class here, lotion making perhaps."

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on March 17, 2014


What Katie had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected? Why?

"I thoroughly enjoyed Beginning Soap making. I really had no idea of what to expect, iv'e never taken DIY classes."

2. What did you like best about the class?

"I really like the teacher, she knows her craft and she makes it easy to learn. I found it exhilarating to watch the chemical process and seeing the finished product, it was really simple and to the point."

3. What did you like least about the class?  What would you change about the class?

"I didn't find anything wrong with this class :)"

4. Did you learn anything new?  Was it informative?

"Everything i learned about soap making was brand new to me. I found this class to be really exciting and creative. Lindsay uses high quality ingredients and follows strict safety procedures. I felt confident in using all of the ingredients."
 
5. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"I highly recommend Blue Dot Organics for DIY classes, Lindsay is a really talented teacher with loads of information to share."

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on March 10, 2014


What Marko & Keri had to say about the Beginner's Cold-Process Soap Making Class

"Keri and I had a fantastic time making soap!  It was so much fun, with a little sense of danger and addiction. We want to do it again ...and again... " (The danger they are referring to is the lye or sodium hydroxide that is a necessary part of the soap making process; I have all of the proper safety gear, and in the class I will show you how to work safely with the lye.  Respect it, don't fear it!  It just may become your next addiction too :) - Lindsay)

1. How was your experience?  Was the class what you expected?  Why?

"Fantastic bonding time with my partner. We were excited to learn there was a element of danger which added more excitement to the class. The overall experience was smooth and so seamless. Lindsay was very well prepared to teach the class in an organized and safe manner. Even when we made mistakes, she was able to make corrective adjustments on the fly which kept the class moving along well." 

2. What did you like best about the class?

"Marko: The part when you calculate your recipe. 
Keri: The part when you choose the recipe ingredients." 

3. What did you like least about the class?  
"Carving out cocoa butter bc the block was so thick/ hard and the tools could have been better." (How I am going to improve this: I have decided to have the cocoa butter ready before the class starts by putting small chunks in a container; this will avoid wasting time & energy during the class. - Lindsay)

4. What would you change about the class?
"Maybe show a 5-10 min. video clip of the soap making cold process, so that a student can see an edited version of the entire process prior to starting. Or suggest they watch one prior to attending class." 

5. Did you learn anything new? 
"We learned so many new things, too many to count!" 

6. Was it informative?
"Yes, Lindsay was able to provide lots of details and answer our questions." 

7. Is there anything else you’d like to tell me about your class?

"You taught us so well, we're hoping to try it at home one day, with lots of attention to detail and careful preparation of course." 

Sent to bluedotorganics@gmail.com on December 31, 2013

If you don't find a class time that works for you, call or email Lindsay at 617-272-5842 or bluedotorganics@gmail.com to arrange your class at no extra cost!

Powered by Squarespace. Home background image by Lindsay Roulusonis. Background image by Lindsay Roulusonis.